How to Retrieve a Car Accident Crash Report?
Car accidents happen in Houston, Texas all the time. Immediately after any automobile accident, you will want to call the police so that an incident report can be made and then look into getting a copy of the incident or crash report for your records.
Requirements for Crash Reports in Houston
In Houston, it is a requirement that crash reports be created by an investigating officer if the crash resulted in more than $1000 in damages or there was an injury or death that resulted from the crash. Usually, within 10 days of the accident, the crash report is purchasable online from the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT).
Obtaining Your Copy of Crash Reports
TxDOT receives crash reports from all of the state of Texas that happen on public roads.
To obtain your copy you would first have to go to the website and fill in some required information such as:
- Your name
- The other driver’s name
- Accident date
- Crash location
- Investigating officer’s ID number
Certified and Non-Certified Copy
The accident report should cost about $6 for a non-certified copy and $8 for a certified copy. If you are making a claim for injuries due to the accident, it is suggested that you get a certified copy. In most instances when you hire a car accident attorney, they will worry about ordering the crash report, all you have to do is make sure that an officer is called to the scene of the accident and makes a report.
Contact an Experienced Car Accident Attorney
If you or a loved one have been injured in a car accident, it is best to seek guidance from an experienced Houston car accident attorney. Call (713) 524-8139 or go online to speak with an experienced Houston Car Accident Lawyer at our law firm. Receive a free consultation to see what your legal options really are.